The end of Gregorian calendar month continuously brings a shake-up to the smartphone landscape as Mobile World Congress, the mobile industry’s biggest fair, introduces US to the newest devices which will capture our attention — a minimum of till the flurry of fall flagship phone news.
And this year’s edition of MWC, that gets current Monday (Feb. 25) in metropolis, figures to supply even additionalphones than usual.

Not solely will we tend to expect the standard parade of flagship and midtier mobile devices that continuouslybuild their debut at MWC, however phone manufacturers have additional surprises future this point around. Folding phones, that are in development for years, area unit finally getting down to get real, and Mobile World Congress might introduce US to some novel foldables.

Then there’s 5G. The next-generation networking normal arrives this year, and MWC ought to offer carriers a platform to inform the globe additional concerning their launch plans. meantime device manufacturers could allow us to recognize once we will expect phones that area unit compatible with 5G networks and their quicker speeds.

One of the larger phone releases this month happened before MWC even got current. Samsung unveiled its Galaxy S10 lineup onincluding a 5G version of the S10 due out later this spring. Samsung additionally showed off the Galaxy Fold, a folding phone that is due out at the top of April Even with Samsung obtaining all that news out of the manner before MWC, the trade event guarantees to possessa packed agenda, with many phone launches slated for the weekend. Here’s a full summing up of what we tend toexpect to ascertain begin of MWC 2019.

LG G8 and LG V50
Like Samsung, LG has usually used MWC to unveil its latest G series flagship robot phone. This year appearanceto be a similar so some, with the Korean phone maker set to host a Gregorian calendar monthtwenty four press event in Barcelona the day before the mobile show formally gets current. And LG apparently has multiple phones up its sleeve, with the LG G8 ThinQ and LG V50 ThinQ leading the manner MWC.    As for the V50, the most recent edition to LG’s premium line would be incoming prior to schedule if it shows up in urban center — the V40 simply came call at Gregorian calendar monthhowever LG may speed up the dischargeto flaunt the V50’s 5G capabilities in partnership with Sprint. LG has already secure a phone that’s high-poweredby the flower 855, uses a Vapor Chamber cooling system and packs a four,000 mAh battery.

A foldable-screen phone from LG was thought to be within the cards for MWC, however LG president Kwon Bong-seok same during a Korea Times story that it’s too early to come back out with a folding phone; instead, LG is golf stroke its efforts into 5G devices. ahead of MWC, LG conjointly proclaimed a trio of midrange and budget phones that it’ll swank in urban center.

MWC may well be overladen with the potential for collapsable phone and 5G phone news, however Huawei maystill build a splash by covering each classes in one device.

The Chinese phone maker antecedently proclaimed that it’ll have a 5G smartphone to point out off in urban center, and teases since on social media have pointed to it same French telephone that includes a collapsable screen. That’s all we all know up to nowhowever that’s enough information to pique interest.  
HostGator Web Hosting

As for whether Huawei will announce the much anticipated P30 Pro, a good old-fashioned flat-screened Android smartphone, don’t expect an MWC debut. Huawei has set a March 26 date for that phone’s launch in Paris.

When: Sunday, Feb. 24; 2 p.m. CET/8 a.m. ET/5 a.m. PT

Microsoft HoloLens 2

Microsoft may be out of the business of making phones, but it’s still planning on attending Mobile World Congress this year. And augmented reality could be a big reason why.

 

HoloLens 2 Teaser

 

Microsoft is holding a press event of its own on Feb. 24, where it’s widely expected that the company will show off HoloLens 2, the successor to its mixed reality headset. The new version, which Microsoft has hinted at in a teaser video, is expected to be lighter, offer a wider field of view and cost less than the current HoloLens. This week, Microsoft announced plans to bring HoloLens apps to iOS and Android phones.

When: Sunday, Feb. 24; 5 p.m. CET/11 a.m. ET/8 a.m. PT

Nokia 9

The Nokia brand, now managed by HMD Global, was active at last year’s MWC, when we saw five mild-mannered Android and non-Android handsets of varying price and feature ranges. In 2019, however, the one-time king of cell phones is looking to make a bigger splash in Barcelona with the likely unveiling of the oft-leaked and five-lensed Nokia 9 PureView at a Feb. 24 press conference.

Credit: GizmoChina/OnLeaksCredit: GizmoChina/OnLeaksWhat can a camera with that many lenses do? Leaked info on the 9 PureView says it will be able to simultaneously capture 10 pictures of varying light intake and use software to merge them together to create super rich and dynamic snaps. The phone will also reportedly have an in-screen fingerprint reader, 6GB of RAM and 128GB of storage. But if its camera can take pictures that look as good as its rumored circle of five lenses look weird, then that’s the only feature anyone will be concerned with.

When: Sunday, Feb. 24; 4 p.m. CET/10 a.m. ET/7 a.m. PT

Xiaomi

Xiaomi already unveiled the Mi 9 earlier this week in China. But we expect to hear more about the Chinese phone maker’s global launch plans for the $450 phone, which is highlighted by a Snapdragon 855 chipset, three rear camera setup and 6.39-inch Full HD+ display. (Sadly, those plans are unlikely to include a U.S. launch date, as Xiaomi has yet to bring any of its phones to this country.)

 

Credit: Lets Go DigitalCredit: Lets Go DigitalRumors about Xiaomi’s MWC presence include the possibility of a 5G version of its Mi Mix 3 phone. But what we’d really like to see is more of the foldable device that Xiaomi’s been teasing online.

 

When: Sunday, Feb. 24; 10:30 a.m. CET/4:30 a.m. ET/1:30 a.m. PT

Oppo 10x Zoom Phone

Chinese smartphone company Oppo has been teasing its “lossless” 10X zoom smartphone camera technology for a bit. At a Feb. 23 pre-MWC event in Barcelona, the company has promised to show more details of the system, which apparently uses a combination of lenses (a type of optical zoom) to punch in without all the pixelation that comes with the digital zoom most smartphones rely on today.

When: Saturday, Feb. 23; 2 p.m. CET/8 a.m. ET/5 a.m. PT

OnePlus 5G Phone

OnePlus had made no secret that it’s working on a 5G phone. And though there’s no large-scale OnePlus press event slated for MWC, OnePlus is hosting a smaller get-together, where it’s apparently going to show off a prototype of the device. That may be the only way U.S. phone shoppers see the 5G phone from OnePlus for a while — CEO Pete Lau says the phone will launch in the U.K. and Finland first.

When: Tuesday, Feb. 26; 8 p.m. CET/2 p.m. ET/11 a.m. PT

Sony Xperia XZ4

Sony holds its MWC press conference on Feb. 25, the opening day for the trade show. Early leaks indicated that the very wide-screened Xperia XZ4 Android phone could be the headliner at Sony’s event, though now, that phone may be going by a different name — the Xperia 1.

 

Credit: Evan Blass/@evleaksCredit: Evan Blass/@evleaksThe phone’s purported super tall and narrow 21:9 screen is an aspect ratio that’s never before been tried on a smartphone, so it’ll be interesting to see what that feature will be ideal for, besides watching ultra widescreen movies. It’s certainly a change from the blocky phones that have come to be associated with Sony over the years.

 

When: Monday, Feb. 25; 8:30 a.m. CET/2:30 a.m. ET/11:30 p.m PT (Feb. 24)

5G News

A week after unveiling a new 5G modem that’s going to power 5G devices released in late 2019, Qualcomm will arrive in Barcelona ready to talk up the new networking standard. The chip maker, which builds the processors and modems you’re likely to find in many 5G-ready phones, laptops and other devices, plans to showcase real-world use cases for 5G at its Mobile World Congress booth.

Sprint is hosting an event on Monday, Feb. 25 which will include an update of its 5G plans. And we wouldn’t be surprised if other U.S. carriers make 5G announcements around the same time to get their own efforts in the headlines.



LEAVE A REPLY